Secrets behind my $14k course launch

How many emails I sent and hours spent

In partnership with

I launched sales for my course on July 26.

Less than 1 week later, course revenue reached over $14k.

Today, I’m sharing:

  • Key numbers from course launch

  • What led to a successful launch

  • My course launch emails (premium subs only)

P.S. Check out the course details here.

Today’s sponsor

The Daily Newsletter for Intellectually Curious Readers

  • We scour 100+ sources daily

  • Read by CEOs, scientists, business owners and more

  • 3.5 million subscribers

Key numbers from course launch

Marketing

  • 40 IG stories

  • 18 social media posts (vlogs of me making the course + promotional videos)

  • 14 emails (regular newsletter and sales emails)

Financials

  • $14,641.50 revenue

  • 58 purchases at $199

  • 31 purchases at $99.50 (student/unemployment discount)

  • 2 purchases totalling $15 (financial aid; $5 and $10)

  • 1.3% conversion rate from email to paid (91/6800 = 1.3%)

Time

  • 56.5 hours

  • $259/hr ($14,641.50 / 56.5)

  • ~50% of time spent on writing the course and marketing

What led to a successful launch

  1. Deadline to enroll (doubled revenue from $7.7k → $14.6k)

  2. Building hype and interest (waitlist) using social media and email newsletter

  3. Talking to prospective students - learnings led to messaging adjustments for landing page and marketing

  4. Offering a student discount ($99 sounds like a “deal” when original price is $199)

My course launch emails

I spent most of my time on 2 things:

  1. Writing the course

  2. Marketing the course

I wrote these emails from scratch - steal them as templates to save you time for your own course launch.

14 total emails sent

Subscribe to Premium to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

A subscription gets you:
Exclusive templates for building your business
Learn from my mistakes
Tools + tips to grow