How much I made in May 2024: income report

And why I'm okay losing $300+

Happy Friday (AKA official launch day of my new Chaotic Creator newsletter brand)!

Today you’ll learn:

  • Why I’m okay losing $300+ monthly recurring revenue (MRR)

  • Quick creator business tips

  • Breakdown of my revenue streams (premium subs only - upgrade here)

Why losing $300+ every month is okay…

I delayed starting a new newsletter brand for months.

It was part of my original brand, Vegan Tech Nomad.

But the audiences are totally different:

  • Productivity enthusiasts (who are happy staying in their 9-5)

  • Entrepreneurs (who want to start their own businesses)

And the content distribution was totally different:

  • Instagram videos (free productivity templates)

  • Twitter posts (free newsletter + creator monetization tips)

So when I put my productivity brand on my Twitter, I lost out on a lot of potential subscribers.

And it shows in my revenue.

My followers grew, but revenue didn’t.

So I had to make a decision:

  • Continue combining the brands (can be confusing)

  • Split the brands (I can scale each separately)

I went with the latter.

And that’s why I cancelled paid subscriptions for my productivity brand, moving some people over to this new brand.

I was okay losing $300+ in monthly revenue, so I can make even more as I scale in the future.

Quick creator business tips

1. Sign up flow

Make sure your sign up flow has instructions (on thank you page or welcome email) to move your email from promotions to primary.

Check out more changes you can make to improve your newsletter here.

2. Sender name

Include your brand name in your sender name if people primarily know your brand.

Someone told me they trashed my emails since it came from Jennifer Chou, not Vegan Tech Nomad.

So now I send from Jennifer from Vegan Tech Nomad (but be careful not to make it too long).

3. Categorize your revenue streams for bookkeeping

Instead of “sales” put “templates” vs “consulting.”

That’s how I do these income reports every month so I can show you a breakdown of each revenue stream.

Revenue streams that made me $X,XXX in May 2024

I’ll also share how much time I spent on my business so you can see what the highest ROI activities are.

Subscribe to Premium to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

A subscription gets you:
Exclusive templates for building your business
Learn from my mistakes
Tools + tips to grow